升天的屋_A

田名網敬一

地點: B207 chi K11 art space Entrance
86

1986
木材、漆
86.5 × 45.5 × 14cm

童年時以木製積木玩樂的記憶誘發了田名網敬一運用木質材料進行實驗和創作,而1980 年代初的生活經歷亦激發了他在作品中反覆呈現某些主題和意念。

中國和日本的園林皆有模塑大自然之意,這認知逐漸發展出他的創作志趣:嘗試以濃縮的自然環境中展現無垠的宇宙。一切天馬行空的奇想,透過木頭模製成物象。1981 年田名網敬一因病住院,徘徊生死間,加上藥物的治療下他經常出現松樹的幻覺。康復後,他開始嘗試以藝術回應生死。升天的屋_A中形態扭纏的松樹,充份展示了藝術家的回憶和經歷如何影響其作品的美學和形式。

1986
木材、漆
86.5 × 45.5 × 14cm

「寓積木於藝術」?田名網敬一童年時玩積木的記憶啟發了他運用木質材的進行實驗和創作,1980 年代初的生活經歷亦影響了他的作品主題和意念。

中國和日本的園林都有模仿大自然之意,這引發了他的創作興趣:嘗試以濃縮的自然環境展現出宇宙。一切天馬行空的奇想,透過木頭製成物象。1981 年田名網敬一因病住院,藥物的治療下他經常出現松樹的幻覺。康復後,他開始嘗試以藝術回應生死。從升天的屋_A中扭曲的松樹,可以看到他的回憶和經歷對作品的影響。

田名網敬一

田名網敬一於1936年生於東京,現於東京生活及工作。他畢業於東京武藏野美術大學,自1960年代起活躍於平面設計、插畫、電影和純藝術領域。他向來不受任何媒介或流派所限,堅持以自己獨特的個人風格遊走於不同領域。田名網敬一以荒誕奇幻的作品聞名,他總能透過創作,把自己的夢境、回憶、幻覺和童年經驗融合到流行文化圖像當中。

分享

地點

地點: B207 chi K11 art space Entrance

The House in Ascension_A

Keiichi Tanaami

Location: B207 chi K11 art space Entrance
85

1986
Wood, lacquer
86.5 × 45.5 × 14cm

While Keiichi Tanaami’s childhood memory of playing with wooden building blocks led to his fascination with experimenting with the material wood, his life experiences in the early 1980s inspired the themes and motifs that have since recurred in his work.

Chinese and Japanese gardens were concerned with modelling nature, and he eventually developed an interest in representing the vast cosmos within the context of a condensed nature. In 1981, Tanaami was hospitalised for illness, hovering between life and death. The pine trees that frequently appear in his sculptures originate from the hallucinations that he experienced as a result of medication. As he recovered, he started to address life and death in his work. The House in Ascension_A, characterised by its twisted pine-tree form, is a perfect example that demonstrates the influences of the artist’s memories and experiences on his formal and aesthetic choices.

1986
Wood, lacquer
86.5 × 45.5 × 14cm

While Keiichi Tanaami’s childhood memory of playing with wooden building blocks led to his fascination with experimenting with the material wood, his life experiences in the early 1980s inspired the themes and motifs in his work.

Chinese and Japanese gardens were concerned with modelling nature, and he eventually developed an interest in representing the universe within a condensed nature. In 1981, Tanaami was hospitalised for illness. The pine trees that usually appear in his sculptures originate from the hallucinations that he experienced as a result of medication. As he recovered, he started to address life and death in his work. The House in Ascension_A, characterised by its twisted pine-tree form, is a perfect example to see the influences of the artist’s memories and experiences on his works.

Keiichi Tanaami

Keiichi Tanaami was born in Tokyo in 1936. He lives and works in Tokyo. Tanaami graduated from Musashino Art University, Tokyo. He has been active in the fields of graphic design, illustration, film, and fine art since the 1960s, never heeding the boundaries of mediums or genres but instead continuing to aggressively traverse them through his unique practice. Tanaami is known for his highly fantastical works that blend his dreams, memories, hallucinations, and childhood experiences with pop culture iconography.

SHARE

Location

Location: B207 chi K11 art space Entrance